Death in the Green Chamber: How many lawmakers died in years

Death in the Green Chamber

The Ninth House of Representatives is nearing the end of its term as some members gear up for reelection while others continue to deal with the reality of their loss in the primaries.

The results of the primaries may have ended the legislative careers of some members, but for a select few, death’s icy touch brought an end to both their legislative and mortal careers. Nine of the 360 participants who set out on the voyage in June 2019 have passed away.

Before the members were sworn in, death began pounding on the door. A member-elect for the Kura/Madobi/Garun Mallam federal constituency in Kano State, Garba Butawala, passed away in March 2019, soon following the general elections.

Various factors have been cited as causes of the death rate among members. Benjamin Kalu, the spokesperson for the House, attributed it to requests made of the MPs by Nigerians.

“Whether you want to believe it or not, tell the media that the National Assembly members are dying as a result of constituent pressure. The truth is that. It’s too much strain, Kalu had stated.

Femi Gbajabiamila, the Speaker, had a different perspective on the mortality rate among members.

Beyond the duties associated with our positions, Gbajabiamila asserts that “we have other responsibilities as dads and mothers, brothers and sisters, sons and daughters that demand us to treat matters of our own health seriously.”

Six perished in local hospitals, one from a car accident, two died in international hospitals.

These nine lawmakers have already passed away.

Jafaru Illiyasu

Illiyasu, who represented Rijau/Magama federal constituency of Niger State, was the first member of the current House of Representatives to kick the bucket.

He died at the Maitama General Hospital in Abuja after a brief illness.

Adamu Muhammad Fagenwo

He represented Jigawa State’s Garki/Babura federal constituency. In Dubai, where he was receiving treatment for an unidentified ailment, he passed away on December 31st, 2019.

Ossy Prestige

The All Progressives Grand Alliance, or APGA, the House’s former caucus leader, passed away on February 6, 2021, while receiving treatment in Germany. Before his death, he was the House representative for Aba North and Aba South. He reportedly traveled to London for medical care despite the shutdown caused by COVID-19 limitations. But as things worsened, he was moved to Germany, where he passed away later.

Hassan Yuguda-Kila

But as things worsened, he was moved to Germany, where he passed away later.

The former chairman of the House Committee on Customs and representative for Jigawa State’s Gwaram Federal Constituency was Hassan Yuguda-Kila. On March 4, 2021, he passed away at the National Hospital in Abuja following a protracted illness.

Sulaiman Lere

Mr. Lere represented Kaduna State’s Lere Federal Constituency. About two months after being sworn in by the House, he passed away.

He was sworn in on the 6th of February 2021 and passed away on the 17th of April 2021 following a protracted legal battle to reclaim his mandate.

Haruna Maitala

Along with his kid, Maitala perished in a horrifying accident on the Abuja-Keffi route. The deceased politician, who represented the Plateau State federal constituency of Jos North/Bassa, was en route to his son’s wedding. He passed away on April 3rd.

Omolafe, Adebayo

Ondo State’s Akure North and South federal constituency were represented by Mr. Omolafe. He reportedly passed away at the federal hospital in Owo, Ondo State. Omolafe reportedly collapsed in his home and was taken to the hospital, where he was later declared dead on August 16, 2021.

Nse Ekpenyong

Mr. Ekpenyong, a former PDP chairman in Akwa-Ibom State, represented the Oron Federal Constituency. Reports state that Mr. Ekpenyong, who was 58 years old when he passed away on April 25, 2022, was not ill.

Jude Ide-Iden

Before his death on July 1st, 2022, Mr. Ide-Iden represented the Egor/Ikpoba Okha federal constituency in Edo State. Before his death, he had secured a spot on his party’s ticket to run for reelection in the general elections in 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button